Dynastic Periods and Kingdoms of Ancient Egypt

Dynastic Periods

By: Donald Rose (Egyptology Man)

As this is my first post on the blog I thought it best to set the scene to which my interests and writing will flow around. Egypt. And not just any part the ancient history of the region. Egyptologists divide Ancient Egyptian civilization into four main Dynastic Periods, the Old, Middle, New, and the Late Kingdoms. These main Dynastic Periods are separated from each another by the First, Second, and Third Intermediate Periods. During these Intermediate periods, political divisions and weak rulers fragmented the central government and disrupted the administrative authority of the country.

Time Period Dynasties Powerful Rulers
Early Dynastic Period3100-2600 B.C 1-3 Menes, Djoser
Old Kingdom2600-2160 B.C 4-8 Cheops, Chephren, Mycerinus,Pepy I, II
First Intermediate Period2160-2040 B.C. 9-11
Middle Kingdom2040-1700 B.C. 11-13 Amenemmes I, II, III
Second Intermediate Period1700-1570 B.C. 14-17
New Kingdom1570-1070 B.C. 18-20 Amosis I,Amenophis I, II, III,

Tuthmosis I, II, III, IV,

Hatshepsut, Akhenaten,

Tutankhamun, Ramesses II & III

Third Intermediate Period1070- 600 B.C 21-25 Economic troubles and civil warsweaken Egypt. There are up to 4

Pharaohs ruling different parts of

Egypt at the same time

Late Kingdom600 – 332 B.C 26-30 Constant threats from Assyrians,Babylonians and Persians. During

the reign of Nectanebo II, Egypt

was conquered by Persians, this

marked the end of native

Egyptian rule.

Greco-Roman Period332 B.C. – 395 A.D 30 BC Egyptwas a Roman


Alexander the Great, Ptolemy,Cleopatra, Octavius

 If you are interested in the culture of ancient egypt please continue to visit. I will be posting articles on a regular basis and look forward to and feedback.

Djoser – Early Dynastic Period – 3100-2600 B.C

By: Donald Frazer (Egyptology Man)